On 29 August 2018, China placed an additional 32 new psychoactive substances under national control. The newly scheduled NPS include 20 synthetic cathinones (such as 4-Cl-alpha-PVP; Dibutylone; Mexedrone and Pentylone), 8 synthetic cannabinoids (for example, AMB-FUBINACA; ADB-FUBINACA; 5F-ADB and NM-2201) and other substances, including two recently internationally controlled fentanyl analogues, 4-FIBF and THF-F.

The ban goes into effect Sept 1st.