• TDS Moderators: AlphaMethylPhenyl | Eligiu | deficiT

amphetamine, needle & the damage done?

Moses1

Greenlighter
I've been having a problem injecting speed, either prescribed dexamphetamine or, more recently, street speed--and am hoping for any advice that might present itself. I started shooting drugs about 4yrs ago to economize opiate dosage. I'd had good bit of back pain and after surgery never let go of painkillers; sounds funny to say it but when my codeine was cut off the fear of withdrawal that I'd experienced in part due to taking extra opiates made me dependent on the black market. After multiple f*ing intense attempts at getting off that i was able to--but one of the tools i used was to shoot my speed prescription when i felt the itch. I'd had that in mostly same form for >10yrs and only really abused it by sharing with friends and the rare, ill-advised party night combo :D
Anyway, it's been couple years since i've been off the opiates, barring <5 screw ups but needling with the speed has been hard as hell to give up. I'm 99% sure i wouldn't care less if it wasn't the instant-gratification system with the needle. I switched half of my prescription from straight dex to lysdexamphetamine and don't have interest in that besides keeping myself focused and not lacking energy. Where I live there's easy needle exchange access so just getting rid of needles didn't do much more than cause me to scrounge for old and dull ones. Enough of my friends and acquaintances use stimulants that avoiding it all long-term would be a real task.
Has anyone else been in a similar situation? Even if not with same drug? I don't think it's the speed that's giving me the itch but the instant gratification system that plays a bit fast and loose with the brain's reward system. Would appreciate any thoughts :)