• Cannabis Discussion Welcome Guest
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules

CHS caused directly by long term cannabis use

DrumTripper

Bluelighter
A bit of background first, to make the case of relevancy and tie the findings to my own experience.

I’ve been consuming cannabis daily for over 30 years now. First two decades mostly smoked, some oral. Last few years of third decade, I’ve switched entirely to dry-vaped (not carts) flower.
Starting 2 years ago, I began having episodes of severe vomiting - out of nowhere. Every 4-5 weeks it’d be an evening like any other, only I’d begin to feel nauseated, then sweating, then vomiting for up to 12 hours. This leads to dehydration and can tax the renal system and contribute to fattening one’s liver. Not as benign a drug or plant as I once thought.

So after months of digging, I’ve found a syndrome congruent with these effects - CHS, or Cannabinoid Hyperemesis Syndrome.

It turns out there’s a wealth of information on this, yet no one seems to hear of it.

It can and has killed in some cases. I know I thought I was going to die and had to visit the ER twice for this. It gets worse over time.
Anyway, I encourage all users to do some research into CHS and be cautious. It is different for everyone in how or when it presents, and it seems only about a third of users who use more than once weekly develop and suffer from these episodes, but that is a statistically significant portion.

Cannabis is around 15 times more potent than in the 60s. Now with dabs and shatter and butters, triple that and you’re getting 30-45 times more THC in the blood than one received from the feeble 60s weed.

Maybe like anything, moderation is key!
But this is one to know about, especially if it starts happening to you.