Drug Discussion

Welcome Guest!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
  • AADD Moderators: swilow | Vagabond696

Media inquiry: Public treatment access in Aus

sjnichols

Bluelighter
Hey everyone,

My name is Sam and I'm a freelance journalist based in Australia -- I actually wrote a piece on Bluelight for VICE a few years ago + spoken to some of you previously for some stories I've worked on in the past.

I wanted to reach out as I'm looking at covering a story on access to public treatment in Australia (including residential, non-residential and detox). There's been some pretty damning reports that the wait times for these places are getting longer and longer. There's also reports of people paying thousands of dollars to access private treatment, some of which are just telling people to pray.

I've spoken with AOD workers and academics across the country so far, but I'm hoping to include perspectives from people who have actually experienced this.

Any and every story is welcome! I also appreciate this can be a sensitive topic, so anonymity can be provided as well.

If you're interested in reaching out, you can contact me at:
Email: samjnichols [at] protonmail [dot] com
Wickr: nicholsgb
Signal +61 492 492 464
Or, you guys can DM me here.

Thanks, everyone!
Sam

Hey everyone,

My name is Sam and I'm a freelance journalist based in Australia -- I actually wrote a piece on Bluelight for VICE a few years ago + spoken to some of you previously for some stories I've worked on in the past.

I wanted to reach out as I'm looking at covering a story on access to public treatment in Australia (including residential, non-residential and detox). There's been some pretty damning reports that the wait times for these places are getting longer and longer. There's also reports of people paying thousands of dollars to access private treatment, some of which are just telling people to pray.