Mental Health How to deal with insomnia caused by antipsychotics

fyrehydrant

Bluelighter
As the title says, I'm on Aripiprazole and it is known to have very bad insomniac effects on its users.
I've tried Nozinan and Amitryptiline but both have very bad side effects when waking up next morning (like a truck has hit you hard on the head).

So, any experience with dealing with insomnia while maintaining a healthy morning wake up ?

I'm not experienced with any of those. 2nd gen antipsychotics do not cause insomnia, but the opposite, makes you sleepy.

Maybe ask your doc about switching to those.

Seroquel, zyprexa, etc

These come with their own bad side effects though, but you definitely won't have insomnia.

Or maybe he can give you something else to sleep

Sleep is very important. Have you talked to your doc about this yet?

I guess it goes without saying that you should dose in the morning, unless you're on the depot shot, then that would be tricky.

Those side effects tend to go away with some time. I'd ask your doctor how long to give trials for. It can be deceptive. The best positive effects with psych. meds tend to take time to manifest.

My fellow moderator is right. There are other antipsychotics that are known to produce sedation. Clozapine is the best one they have, and my gosh it is sedating! Otherwise, Seroquel and Zyprexa are good, the latter of which may be second-most powerful.

I don't think they prescirbe Seroquel monotherapy for psychotic illness. It's much stronger at the site that distinguishes atypical antipsychotics from atypical antipsychotics than it is at D2, the site that pretty much is necessary (with a few exceptions) for antipsychotic activity. Hope that makes sense.

I'd ask about CBD, though. It can be a powerful ally!

I've just googled the side effects of this anti psychotic and yes it says insomnia is one of them.
Most anti psychotics seem to do the opposite and help with sleep. Maybe ask your doc to change meds.