• N&PD Moderators: Skorpio | thegreenhand

Is it possible to metabolize Buprenorphine into Norbuprenorphine in vitro?

Animoe

Bluelighter
The title kind of says it all.. Is there a way to metabolize Buprenorphine into Norbuprenorphine in vitro? I'm no expert in biology/pharmacology so please excuse me if this is a dumb question or I'm using incorrect terminology..
I was wondering if it would be possible to take the enzyme (Cyp3A4, I think..) that metabolizes Buprenorphine into Norbuprenorphine, and introduce some Buprenorphine to the mix and end up with Norbuprenorphine?

Obviously it would probably (I'm guessing) be a bit more complicated than just mixing the two up in a beaker and have Norbuprenorphine form, but you guys get the gist of what I'm saying...

Soooooo, what do you guys think?

Theoretically one could spit into a cup, mix up some buprenorphine strips and let it “react.” CYP3A4 is found in saliva. Not sure what kind of microbial life would flourish as well in such conditions.

I’d bet though a simple A/B, assuming buprenorphine can handle it, the NorBupe could be cleaned up enough to be safe to use.

One could send the product to a lab after the fact mentioning it may contain NorBupe and to look for it as well as Bupe.

-GC

Ooh, interesting! Thank you for the reply!

BTW, what does A/B mean?

I thought the issue was norbuprenorphine's poor ability to pass the blood brain barrier?

Would the spit thing really work? Would one need to really worry about microbial life if they were to just sublingual it? How long would it need to sit & by 'react', does that mean doing more than just mixing up the two?

Theoretically one could spit into a cup, mix up some buprenorphine strips and let it “react.” CYP3A4 is found in saliva. Not sure what kind of microbial life would flourish as well in such conditions.

I’d bet though a simple A/B, assuming buprenorphine can handle it, the NorBupe could be cleaned up enough to be safe to use.