• BASIC DRUG
    DISCUSSION
    Welcome to Bluelight!
    Posting Rules Bluelight Rules
    Benzo Chart Opioids Chart
    Drug Terms Need Help??
    Drugs 101 Brain & Addiction
    Tired of your habit? Struggling to cope?
    Want to regain control or get sober?
    Visit our Recovery Support Forums
  • BDD Moderators: Keif’ Richards | negrogesic

Methadone/Propranolol/Trazodone Interactions?

amuhree3

Greenlighter
I went to see a new therapist yesterday. I have been battling anxiety for 1/3 of my life. I am 33 and have also been going to a methadone treatment clinic for 10 years. I have been titrating for 2 years and currently on 17 mgs. Every doctor I have went to and told them about my treatment they suddenly look at me judgingly and don't want to help me. They give me crap that doesn't work, and makes my anxiety worse or makes me depressed and agitated. The only thing I have found so far to help my anxiety/panic attacks immediately is benzos.

I figured I would try out a social experiment on the therapist yesterday, and not revel to him I was on methadone. He prescribed me trazadone for sleep, propranolol for social anxiety and the physical effects of anxiety (fast heart rate, sweating, shaking), and 10 1mg pills of Ativan for break through panic attacks. I was not wanting a whole months script of benzos obviously because I am an addict but I really appreciated him thinking of the break through since most medication for anxiety doesn't start working for 3 weeks or longer.